skip to content

Semiconductor Physics Group


Head of Group

Professor David  Ritchie
Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge
Professor of Semiconductor Science and Technology, Swansea University
Fellow and Director of Studies in Physics at Robinson College, University of Cambridge
01223 337331

Academic Staff

Professor Chris  Ford
Professor of Quantum Electronics
Professorial Fellow of Girton College
01223 337486
Professor Charles G.  Smith
Professor of Nanoelectronic devices
01223 337483

Postdoctoral Research Associates

Dr Kaveh  Delfanazari
Senior Research Associate
Dr Varun  Kamboj

Research Staff

Cleanroom technician
Research staff

Technicians/Computer Officers

PhD Students

Photo of Wladislaw Michailow
PhD student
Cavendish Laboratory
Trinity College


Dr Malcolm  Connolly
EPSRC Research Fellow
01223 766130
Dr Ian  Farrer
Lecturer in Semiconductor Epitaxy and Materials, University of Sheffield
+44 (0) 114 222 5860


Dr Dirk  Backes
Postdoctoral research associate (PDRA)
01223 764178
Dr Thomas David Meany
Research scientist for Toshiba Research Europe Ltd.


01223 339323

Former members